Joseph Johnson, Cello

Tchaikovsky & Kalinnikov

September 30, 2018

2:30 p.m.

The Isabel


Joseph Johnson, Cello

Evan Mitchell, Conductor


Rachmaninoff:   Vocalise

Tchaikovsky:     Variations on a Rococo Theme

Kalinnikov:        Symphony No. 2


Russian music holds a special place in our Maestro’s heart. This concert showcases the very best of Russia's romantic orchestral offerings. Rachmaninoff's Vocalise spools out a beautiful Russian melody as though it were silk. The Rococo Variations is Tchaikovsky's most brilliant work of intimacy. We end the program with a rarely heard work from a contemporary of Tchaikovsky, Vasily Kalinnikov. His second symphony is unsurpassed in its grandeur and Russian majesty.

For more information, please visit

Ticket prices are plus HST and handling fee

Adults - A Section $50; B Section $35; C Section $25

Seniors - A Section $45; B Section $30; C Section $25

Students - A Section $25; B Section $20; C Section $15

Children/Classically Hip Member - All tickets $10